a suggestion for storing a csa delivery

A new member inquired how to store the huge box of produce we receive from Hepworth Farms every two weeks.  There are tons of different ways to organize the produce and keep it as fresh as possible for as long as possible.  But I just thought I would share what has been working for us over the past 6 years.

Re-used plastic bags, kitchen towels and labels.  Labels!

our fridge after the last delivery
our fridge after the last delivery

I’m a little embarrassed to show my fridge.  It’s not pretty but it is functional.   I can also say, on this day of another delivery, I didn’t have any produce spoil from the last delivery and the only vegetables I have left are 1 cucumber and 1 zucchini.

On delivery days, once I get the box home, the greens, lettuces and herbs get priority by being wrapped in a kitchen towel, put in a plastic bag and labeled.  The greens get the best space in the fridge.  Then I move onto the harder, heavier vegetables that require fridge space.  They get the same towel, bin, label and get stuffed wherever there is leftover room.

Labels are key for our fridge.  If we don’t know what’s in the bags, there’s no point if they are staying fresh because they are forgotten.

How do you store your bounty?  We’d love to hear your ideas!

Delivery #4-  Hopefully on the road to us at this very moment!

Have a wonderful Fresh Friday!

3 thoughts on “a suggestion for storing a csa delivery

  1. Thanks for the tips, that was really helpful. I am a novice. Should we take off the rubber bands before we store it away? And do you wrap the towels and plastic bags tight or loose around the veggies?

    >

    1. Hi Derek! Great suggestions and questions! I will try to send an update to the group about these ideas but thought I would contact you directly since it would be quicker.
      I take off rubber bands if I have the time or if they look like they are hurting the produce. And I do tend to make the towel snug around the produce. This helps with space saving in the fridge, helps protect produce from being damaged by fridge shuffling and seems to help with freshness. The snug fit of the towel shouldn’t be too tight that it damages the produce. I hope that helps!
      Great idea about prep of certain produce. This I can also add to a blog post in the near future. What I have learned from being at the coop over the years and from asking the farmers:
      Celery- the whole stalk and leaves are edible. the trimming of the top and bottom can be thrown into make stock. I freeze the trimmings from celery, carrots and onions for batches of stock.
      Red onions- the stalk gets tougher the more mature the onion is. As a scallion (young onion) the stalk is edible through the greens but it gets much tougher the older the onion.
      Radishes- edible greens (can be used in salad)
      Beet Greens- edible greens (young leaves can be eaten in salad, older leaves can be used like spinach)
      Kale/Collards- most mature stems should be removed because they are very tough

      Are there other veggies you are wondering about? I can add them to the post!

      Thanks so much for checking in! Sarah

  2. Also, many times I don’t know how to prepare certain items, and I’m not sure if you can use the tops of the red onions/celery/etc, for instance. Maybe you could put together a class/workshop going over all that and more, along with recipes, etc. And there could be a donation/fee which in turn could go right into funding the CSA! 🙂

Leave a Reply

