Get Pickled! From Eating Well Magazine

Pickled

To say that I am missing the Summer MCFC CSA is an understatement.   Luckily, Lancaster Farm Fresh can hold us over until the 2011 CSA Season gets into swing.  Two weeks ago, I ordered 10 lbs. of loose carrots from Pennsylvania and then realized…that’s a lot of carrots.  But I remembered a pickle recipe I found in the July/August 2010 issue of Eating Well magazine and went right to work.  The recipe has been so successful with cukes, beets, cauliflower, carrots and green beans!  Thought I would pass it along just in case anyone else wanted to give it a try.  Any suggestions for other culinary activities in these winter months?

Here is the link to all the articles related to pickling and canning- (I followed the preparing of vegetables and the designing your own pickle flavors). http://www.eatingwell.com/healthy_cooking/healthy_cooking_101_basics_techniques/kitchen_tips_techniques/how_to_make_homemade_pickles

I filled my clean and sterile jars with:
steamed local carrots (Pennsylvania)
local cherry bomb peppers (frozen from last summers bountiful hot pepper delivery)
garlic and dill from California

I used the Sour Pickle Brine:
3 c. Distilled White Vinegar
3 c. water
2 T. plus 2 t. Sea Salt
2 T. sugar (I use less that 1 T.)
Bring to a boil for 2 minutes and remove from heat.

Once the brine is poured into the jars and cooled, the jars go straight into the fridge.  Eating Well states that they will last in the fridge for 1 month but they do not make it that long for my family.  They only last a few days…yumm!

 

Leave a Reply

